Twitter & Facebook are the Master’s Tools

Robyn Morrison
4 min readNov 16, 2022
Photo Illustration: Trent Joaquin; Source: Getty Images

“For the master’s tools will never dismantle the master’s house. They may allow us to temporarily beat him at his own game, but they will never enable us to bring about genuine change.” Audre Lorde

I deleted my Facebook page in 2019 in protest of Mark Zuckerberg and Facebook’s business model, intentionally designed to profit by dividing the world. In the beginning, like many others, I believed Facebook would connect us with people worldwide. Unfortunately, the reality has been a nightmare. I left Facebook before I watched The Social Dilemma, a documentary released in 2020 about the dangerous side effects of social media. If you haven’t watched this, everyone should.

I am not a Luddite; I’m more of an early adopter. I joined Facebook in Seminary in Berkeley, CA, in early 2007 because I loved staying connected with people back home in Montana. Then, when my class graduated in 2008, I could stay connected to friends in several countries and dozens of states.

I started on Twitter in early 2009. However, I was not very active on Twitter until I left Facebook. Since 2019, and especially since January 6, 2021, I have found a fantastic progressive, supportive group of Montanans on Twitter at #mtpol. Watching the events of 1/6/21 unfold in real-time on Twitter was stunning and powerful. Since then, I have turned to Twitter as the…

--

--

Robyn Morrison

I am a change-maker, prophet, rebel, spiritual guide, polymath, and sage. I integrate the material realm with the spiritual to facilitate social transformation.